Colombia Is Taking A Turn For The Worse. Should I Stay?

Elections, Car Fires, and Murder.

Sara Burdick
4 min readMay 8, 2022
Communa 13 Art

This morning, I woke up like any day, except it was sunny instead of rainy here in the mountains. It is still the rainy season. However, today is beautiful.

The birds are chirping; the wind is blowing. The sky has a few clouds, but mostly it is a perfect blue. I have three new squash growing, and my tomatoes might start blooming soon! The other day I stole some cow poop from the pasture across the way, but I think no one cares.

Then I receive a text from a friend. I asked her yesterday what she thought about the current situation in Colombia. Is she staying or going?

Ok, let me backup a little to 3 days ago. It was shopping day, my boyfriend went into town alone and did the shopping, this is easier, he can fit more on the back of his moto; I also prefer to stay home.

When he gets home, he says, “I bought a little extra food because of what’s going on.” I look at him and say, “what is going on?” He says, “don’t you watch the news or youtube.” I say yes, but not recently, should I? He says, “well, yes, ok, so I say you need to tell me what is going on then”.

So he goes on to tell me that on the coast, the paramilitary have been attacking cars, stopping buses, and burning…

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick