Did My Love Of Reading Inspire My Desire To Become A Writer?

A spark of curiosity explored

Sara Burdick
3 min readJul 10, 2024
Sushi Roll + A Good Book Photo Cred: Sara Burdick

I have been a reader since the moment I learned to read. In middle and high school, I remember being addicted to R.L. Stine and his Goosebump series.

Last month, when I was visiting my sister, my niece had to go to the library and take out a few books. While we were there, I stumbled upon an entire shelf of R.L.Stine.

I was transported back to 1993, sitting in my room devouring books.

It could also have started my obsession with all things that go bump in the night and murder mysteries.

Since then, my book choices have slowly evolved. I still read and listen to books from the library, but lately, I have listened to more books than I read.

I am made fun of having headphones on all the time. When someone wants my attention, they must approach or wave dramatically for me to see.

I am so profoundly enthralled in my book that the outside world is often tuned out. I only listen to music when working or writing; for example, now I am listening to this fantastic Handpan YouTube channel.

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick