How I Relax On My Colombian Finca While Still Being Productive

Gardening is the ultimate relaxation.

Sara Burdick
4 min readDec 15, 2021
Cows I shared my plantain leaves with.

The past couple of days have been a whirlwind. We finally moved into our new house, in the countryside of Colombia. While neither one has much stuff moving, it is generally exhausting.

I have been quite stressed for unknown reasons. Sometimes that is just how life is. Stressful, fun, crazy, and a bit off-kilter. The house has three bedrooms, and it is just me, my boyfriend and the dog.

On patrol

Who has been on patrol. She paces the yard and surroundings about 100 times a day to ensure no one comes near me or the house.

She used to just lay and sleep all day. Now she has a job, and she seems much happier. This made me think ( I know shocking, I am thinking, again). My brain does not stop churning.

When I have no real “job” or purpose, I feel like I turn to mush, well, my brain turns to mush, and then I get bored. I have worked online for the past 3 years, but I lost my job during the pandemic. I was mush.

I was doing youtube videos, learning Spanish but yet had no real purpose. I found myself…

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick