How The Christmas Holidays Are Celebrated In Colombia, Not What I Expected

Did Baby Jesus visit you today?

Sara Burdick
6 min readDec 25, 2021
Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

It’s Christmas morning here in rural Colombia. I always say rural Colombia instead of Colombia because there is such a difference, trust me!

When I recommend people move to countries, I always say, you can find whatever you need in that country. However, when you do not move to a big city, that statement is not valid, so the explanation, back to Christmas.

I am sitting outside on my porch, with the cows and birds singing. Yes, the cows are mooing, waiting for their breakfast, most laying down enjoying the sun because yep, it’s also sunny.

Cows waiting for food or just chilling.

When I moved to LA 16 years ago, it was the first time I ever had a bright, not freezing cold Christmas, and honestly, 16 years later, I am still not used to it. I love it, yet it is still kind of weird to see lights and Christmas trees and be 70–80 degrees outside and sunny.

My sisters will send me pictures of snow, which is sufficient! I never liked the snow or the cold weather.

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick