How The Unusual Friendship My Dog Has With The Pig Down The Street Started

An interesting bond

Sara Burdick
3 min readJan 13, 2022
love at first sniff

My dog’s best friend is the pig down the road. I have always loved pigs. We had them when I grew up. They were my friends, and I got muddy with them.

One day I was walking the neighborhood, and I saw this little pig wandering around her garden, and I was shocked. First of all, she is so tiny and is not a baby. She also acts like a dog or a cat. She was walking around her porch, and I am not sure I have been fascinated with this pig ever since.

I told my boyfriend the neighbor has a pig, and naturally, I want one. He said it would probably be for Christmas dinner, but it was not, and when I showed him the picture, he agreed it was a pet. So every time I go by the house, I look for this pig to watch her mannerisms.

She always making little grunting noises and looking for something to dig or eat. Well, one day, she was in the middle of the road, and my dog was with me.

I thought, well, this will be interesting. My dog is very protective of who I pet and who she befriends. She was curious about this little “creature” but hesitant.

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick