I am not your punching bag

Have you ever been friends with someone who feels you can be their punching bag?

Sara Burdick
6 min readSep 5, 2023
Buenos Aires, Argentina. It is one of my favorite pieces of street art!

I often tell people I don’t judge them, and I can ignore bad behavior. Typically I will ignore someone until they have come to their senses and when they decide to stop being a complete horse’s ass.

But why should I even do that?

After all, I understand one fundamental thing about how they act; it has nothing to do with me. However, when is the point that you decide to stop being the punching bag for your friends or partners?

It seems to be always following me: people who need a friend who listens and doesn’t judge, a friend who will always forgive them, or even a partner who expects to be forgiven all the time.

I want to clarify I am not perfect either.

Kazbegi, Georgia

Yet it is something that I have noticed that keeps popping up in my life, whether it is me being there for a friend who seems to push everyone away, a lover who appears to be noncommittal, or family who only wants you around because you chill them out.

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick