I Thought I Was Scared of The Dark, Now I Realize it Was The Woods I Was Afraid Of

I always felt I was being watched

Sara Burdick
5 min readOct 11, 2024
The woods are beautiful-during the day. My old backyard. Photo by author.

Winter has arrived in my part of Colombia. I shouldn’t say winter, but they call it invierno, which means winter when translated. Yet, it is nothing like the winters I grew up with on Lake Erie. So their winter is the rainy season.

This rainy season is extra cold, as I am sitting on the balcony in a sweatshirt because it is chilly. With that said, after mid-morning, the sun will come out, and it will be sunny until around 4 pm, and the rains will come and last until the morning.

My daily routine is slightly changing: doing outdoor work in the morning instead of the afternoons. Except not today, along with the cooler climates, so has ¨la gripa¨ my partner got a cold last week, and my body has been fighting.

Yesterday, I started to have a sore throat and general malaise. I got up, ate some raw garlic, and then worked outside. (Raw garlic is also protecting me from the vampires and spooks).

I have to take advantage of the sun in the morning, and my coffee trees are loaded with ripe berries, which I have been picking this week.

Of course, after I work all morning, I feel extra crappy in the evenings, so I have been watching…

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick