Learning to be more present like Lucy

In my little apartment, I have a big enclosed patio, which I refer to as the living space.

Sara Burdick
4 min readMar 21, 2024
blue skies over Jericó, Colombia

It has a hammock, a table, and a little seating area, the ultimate outdoor/indoor living arrangement.

I am sitting at my table with a fresh cup of ginger/turmeric tea that I have recently become obsessed with. My tablecloth is bright orange, matching the color of my chosen beverage.

I also threw a sprig of oregano in there just for flavor. Esmerelda is off in the distance with her partner, Esmerelda Number 2, jumping from branch to branch.

I love this outdoor space.

It is cloudy today, and I have been hoping for rain as it has been so dry here lately.

However, I have had visitors in my space for the past two weeks. Every day, I check on her to see how she’s doing.

Usually, when I clean, I clean all the cobwebs, but one day, I noticed a bug caught in a spiderweb, so I left it. As I write this, I witness a second big and get caught in her majestic web.

Lucy lives in the right upper corner

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick