Living Once Again in The Countryside of Colombia: Jericó

This is me procrastinating.

Sara Burdick
4 min readJan 15, 2024
Jericó, Colombia in the distance from where I am staying.

I have been living in the small pueblo of Jericó, Colombia, for the past week.

How long will I be here? I have no idea.

My only plan is to leave when my visa expires at the beginning of February. Then, I will do what all of us travelers call a visa run. Then, I plan on applying for a digital nomad visa for Colombia while I search for a small farm to live on in this area.

If you have read this far, you are wondering what I am procrastinating about.

Writing: ironic, isn’t it? I have a deadline I am working on for a test blog that I am submitting to a big travel blog, and it is difficult as I usually write on platforms and can say what I want.

However, I am anxious.

What if my article needs to be better? What if I don’t know what she wants? What if it’s just crap, and then what if it’s not crap? What if she likes it, and I have a constant gig?

Who knows?

I have written the article, but now, as most freelancers know, I need to edit, which is not my strong point; I ramble. Yet I want it to be good, so I need to delete the ramble and keep the essential bits…sigh.

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick