The Harmonious Balance of Nature

Why can´t we live the same?

Sara Burdick
4 min readMar 13, 2024
Views from my kitchen

Yesterday was the first time I left my little hideout in about a week. This morning, I woke up to the sun attempting to come through the colored panes on my windows.

It could not, so I gave them a nudge as I swung the windows wide open and allowed him to permeate the inside of my tiny house.

My view is of a small mountain, with cows occasionally grazing.

A tree calls to the birds as she offers them fruit as a snack. My favorite bird is Esmerelda.

She is not just one but multiple, also known as the Emerald Tucan or Tucancito Esmeralda. So, Esmerelda, they are gorgeous.

Foto: Niky Carrera Levy

The first time I saw them, I loved their slightly yellowish beaks and emerald-colored bodies. Often, two or three of them are in the tree outside my windows, hopping from branch to branch, looking for the ripe fruit.

Yesterday, I saw a Colibri-Humingbird in the garden. It was the first one I had seen while living on this mountain. She was beautiful, flattering back and forth while looking for the juiciest flower.

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick