The road there is always the best part, the destination is a bonus

Yesterday I finally left Medellín.

Sara Burdick
6 min readNov 17, 2022
View from my Hostel. Manizales, Colombia

I have a very unpopular opinion of Medellín, as it is my least favorite place in Colombia. However, I did need to go to collect my thoughts.

I stayed in a hotel for a day and chilled in a hostel for two days. After that, it was to decide what and where to go. I am headed south, so the original route of heading north was out of the question.

I only have two weeks before my visa expires, and I want to make the most of my time here until I come back in January; that is the rough plan. As I realized, I am unable to plan my life.

Manizales, Colombia early morning clouds slowly clearing up.

Yesterday I took a 7-hour bus ride to Manizales. A city in the mountain and coffee region. The town is higher in the mountains and a bit colder.

However, it is refreshing, and I love the change in weather. I am currently staying in a hostel on the side of a mountain, not in the city center, as I do not party; there is no reason to surround myself with those who are not on the same plan as me.

--

--

Sara Burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. Travel and Storyteller. I live in Colombia. https://linktr.ee/saraaliceburdick